Waiting for nothing to happen

Today my mom called my newly married sister and asked her if she could come over here tomorrow. When my sister asked if everything was okay, my mom said, “It’s December 21 tomorrow. And if anything happens, I want all of us to be together.” My sister laughed it off. But yeah, tomorrow is December 21, 2012, the much hyped end of the world. And it’s only less than an hour away. Should I be worried?

For a past few months, the web world has been going crazy about December 21, 2012. It has been one of the most talked subjects in all the social networking sites. On August this year, this message first appeared on facebook.

NASA predicts total blackout on 23-25 Dec 2012 during alignment of Universe.

US scientists predict Universe change, total blackout of planet for 3 days from Dec 23 2012.

It is not the end of the world, it is an alignment of the Universe, where the Sun and the earth will align for the first time. The earth will shift from the current third dimension to zero dimension, then shift to the forth dimension. During this transition, the entire Universe will face a big change, and we will see a entire brand new world.

The 3 days blackout is predicted to happen on Dec 23, 24, 25….during this time, staying calm is most important, hug each other, pray pray pray, sleep for 3 nights…and those who survive will face a brand new world….for those not prepared, many will die because of fear. Be happy, enjoy every moment now. Don’t worry, pray to God everyday. There is a lot of talk about what will happen in 2012, but many people don’t believe it, and don’t want to talk about it for fear of creating fear and panic.

We don’t know what will happen, but it is worth listening to USA’s NASA talk about preparation. Whether it’s true or not, better be prepared. No panic, stay calm, just prays. Remember to smile more, love more and forgive more…every day. Better avoid traveling during December.

Since then it has spread like wildfire in the internet. Forget about the internet, wherever I go, from college to coffee shops, from morning walk to micro buses, I hear people talking about the end of the world on December 21. And since the so-called doomsday is nearing, my facebook friends are posting this message in their status like never before. And when I say ‘like never before’, trust me on this. If you think this pisses me off, just wait. Here what I want to talk about is not how all this started but about how people are sharing this piece of information. By the way, I highly doubt it can be called information.

Because I am a student of astrophysics and I do not believe in all this ‘crazy shit’ (sorry for the word), I post a link to the NASA website where it says that December 21, 2012 thing is a hoax and the world will not end on that day in the comment box of everyone who shares this message. Now what really pisses me off is their reply. They say,

Haha … Rohit. I know. But this is just a copy-paste status.

A copy paste status! What is that supposed to mean? When you post these messages without your personal views on them, you too are becoming a part of the hoax. Why don’t people realize this?

With December 21, 2012 approaching, pictures like this are being shared all over the internet

With December 21, 2012 approaching, pictures like this are being shared all over the internet.

The other day, one of my class mates posted the same message in my college facebook group. I did what I always do. I commented saying it was an internet hoax, posted a link to the NASA website and requested him to google things before posting. He replied saying he had found the message in google and it was not his fault. How can people become so irresponsible? Every thing we find in google is not credible. Being the students of science, isn’t is our responsibility to first make sure the news we get is backed by credible scientific institutions (in this context NASA)?

In this digital age, what we share in social networking sites shows what we are and what we believe in. So next time you share posts in internet, spare a second thought.

Meanwhile I am going bed waiting for tomorrow, waiting for the rumormongers to be silenced, waiting for nothing to happen.

Leave a Reply

