The Wait

I had recently joined the Writing English course at Bishowbhasa Campus. And today was my first day. Actually, the first day of the class was yesterday but I was too busy with some of my stuffs. So anyways, I went to the campus, browsed through the classroom information chart and entered the class right at 5:30. I had thought that there would be very few students in the classroom. I was wrong. As soon as I opened the door, the classroom was silenced. There were three students sitting in each bench. There were two rows and almost all the benches in both the rows were occupied. As I entered, I could sense that the class mistook me as the teacher for some moment. I kept a beard. I was carrying a heavy laptop bag. I was dressed casually and I was wearing a cap. I must have definitely looked like a teacher. I walked past the staring eyes towards the end of the class until I found a bench with only a person sitting on it. I settled in my new found place, took off my jacket and my cap. And the wait began. The wait for the actual teacher.

I don’t know if it’s a good habit or a bad one but I hate waiting. I tend to grow restless when people keep me waiting, especially those who arrive late and say those three damned words as an excuse, it’s Nepali time. Anyways, I took out my mobile phone from my pocket and read a book that I have been reading for the past few days. Digital Fortress by Dan Brown. There was an interesting twist in the plot but I quickly lost interest in it after a few pages because I was eagerly waiting for the class to begin. So I put the cell phone back in my pocket and kept staring out of the window. The view was not new to me. Same old police club on the left, R.R. Campus on the right and the administrative block the Bishowbhasa Campus on the back. I was in the same room during my German language first semester exam a month ago. Our exam was delayed by forty minutes. Forty long minutes. I had enough time to look around. Coming back to the present, somebody then entered the classroom. This must be the teacher, I thought. I was about to stand up on my feet to greet him. But then he kept on walking and sat on the bench behind me. Damn! People kept coming in and the classroom was buzzing with side talks. The person sitting next to me was silent too. May be he too was desperately waiting for the teacher. We could’ve had a decent talk but I didn’t feel like talking at all.

I took out my mobile from my pocket and checked the time. 5:43. This is why Nepal is still far from being developed, I thought. People just don’t care about time. They take it for granted. I opened the QPython console and practised writing some programs. I learnt to generate a Fibonacci series. That is one of the achievements of the day. If you’re familiar with programming stuffs, you must be laughing at me right now. I get it. That is such an easy thing to do and I’m calling it an achievement. Well, it is for me. And if you’re not familiar with programming, may be you too should learn at least a programming language. It gives you a whole new perspective of life and everything around you. Apart from being able to write codes, of course.

So when I was indulging myself in the feeling of pride in generating the Fibonacci series, a man entered the classroom. I didn’t pay much attention towards him until he rested his bag on the first bench and started to talk very softly. This is definitely the teacher. I was very sure this time. I checked mobile one last time. 5:48. I took a deep breath of relief and opened my copy and pen.

Leave a Reply

