ROY

About two years ago, one of my teachers called in sick very late. So my class got cancelled. I got bored and as I had nothing to do, I decided to watch a movie. It was when I reached the theater I realized Roy was in QFX Cinemas. Roy had received a bad review. I do not judge movies by reading reviews. But something happened to me that moment. I did not want to watch Roy. So instead I opted to watch a Nepali movie Suntali–I hadn’t heard of this movie earlier. And I did not regret my decision. It was a fun movie. I read that this movie won some awards that year.

So as time passed by, I forgot about the movie. Though I still hear the song Chittiyaan Kalaiyan from the movie in some parties.

Today I got back from work a bit late. Tired, I sat on the couch, turned on the TV and started surfing channels. I stopped at Star Gold Select. For the past few weeks, I’ve been a fan of this particular movie channel. The movies here have only one break just the way they should have.

Anyways, I noticed that Roy was on. I thought of watching for a few minutes. I instantly got hooked. I watched the movie for around 40 minutes. Then a neighbour showed up. I had to turn off the TV and entertain him. After he left, I watched the entire movie online, right from the beginning. And I have to admit, it was a beautiful movie. I liked it. I’m now writing my first thoughts in this blog.

Kabir Grewal (Arjun Rampal) is a movie director. He has two successful movies under his belt–Guns Part I and Guns Part II. Now he’s up for Guns Part III. All these movies are about a thief called Roy (Ranbir kapoor). Roy is so good at what he does that some call him the greatest thief of all time. During the shoot, Kabir meets another filmmaker Aisha (Jacqueline Fernandez). He draws inspiration from Aisha and moulds his story based on his interactions with her. Then one day Aisha leaves. Kabir is left behind with an unfinished story, an unfinished movie. He loses his inspiration. The movie goes on to show how he faces these circumstances.

There are many beautiful moments in the movie. The movie shows Kabir’s and Roy’s story in parallel. It can get a little confusing at first because Jacqueline has important part in both stories. But once when you get that they are two different stories with a connection, you can immerse into the story and the characters. There’s one particular moment in the movie when Kabir loses his inspiration to complete the movie in the form of Aisha, Roy is left stranded in the middle of ocean for sometime. This, I think, the director has done very beautifully.

The songs of the movie are very good and catchy too. Tu Hai Ki Nahi and Yaara Re were my favourite. The first two songs were also good but I think they were not very necessary. I felt they disturbed the smooth flow of the story. I also felt they were a bit loud given the story, its pace, and the characters.

Other than that, I think the movie was great. The main reason this movie did not do well in the box office, I believe, is that it moves very slowly. But I think that is the beauty of the movie. Also the movie probably was made ahead of its time. The Indian cinema audience are not yet ready to watch these sort of artistic movies. I don’t mean to say that I am ahead of time. I just like these sort of movies. My friends don’t like the movies I like, and I don’t like the movies my friends like.

I remember one movie in particular–Another Earth. I liked the movie so much that I suggested it to all my friends. All those who watched it on my recommendation vowed never to take my recommendation on movies from that day on. I was a little disappointed. So I’m going to save myself from another disappointment and not suggest it to any of my friends. Instead I’m writing this blog so that anyone can read this if they wish to.

Final words:

I know it’s waaaaaaaaaaay too late, but still … if you’re into typical masala bollywood movies, this movie is not for you. But if you appreciate the artistic value of a movie, you can go for it. There’s a good chance you’ll enjoy the movie.

Rating: 6/10

Leave a Reply

