Prem Geet 2 movie review

Yesterday a friend walked into my office and said Aaja Prem Geet 2 herna jaane ma. 2:30 ko ticket book gareko chhu. Jaane ho? I handed him the review of the movie published in Kantipur the same day. It was not a very good review. Mero girlfriend le pani asti hereko, ramro chhaina re, someone added. He then dropped the idea of watching the movie.

Today again the same friend came in my office, sat in front of me and showed me a ticket.  Aaja pani timle mind change garchhau bhanera maile ta ticket nai kinera aako. 2:30 kai show herne. When he was about to leave at 2:10, I asked him if I could also tag along. I must say he was taken aback. But without wasting any time, we hurried to City Center. After a few minutes in the queue, I was able to get a ticket that someone else had already bought. (The seat was marked SOLD but the ticket girl still gave it to me. I don’t know how that was possible. But I didn’t care. I got a ticket when the hall was housefull!)

One thing I like about Big Cinema is the size of the screen—it’s big. I mean it. And if you’re in the fourth row from the screen, it gets even bigger. Last time I watched a movie in Big Cinema was Mr Joe B Carvalho (read my review of Mr Joe B Carvalho here). They showed a short clip about the quality of the sound of the theater before the movie began. It was very loud. A guy sitting next to me was saying to his friend Hamro kaan ko jaali futeko bhaye hall le jimma linchha? Big Cinema people, if you’re reading this, we get that your theater has good sound system, no need to show off with that ear-piercing music.

The movie starts with a speech a man is giving to an audience in Mandalay, Myanmar about Nepal and Nepali people, about how the Gurkha people came and settled in Burma but still have Nepal in their hearts. Wait, Mandalay? I’ve heard that name before. My father often talks about that place. We have many relatives there. And my parents are planning to visit Burma next year. So the movie immediately had all my attention.

As the name suggests, the movie is about Prem (Pradeep Khadka) and Geet (Aaslesha Thakuri) and their love story. Geet was born in Myanmar but lives in Thailand with her uncle. She wants to visit the homeland of her grandmother. So one day, she decides to go Nepal alone. Here she meets our boy Prem. He takes her to Pokhara, Lumbini and Rara. During this travel, Prem starts to have feelings for her. He doesn’t know if the feeling is mutual. When Geet goes back to Thailand, Prem decides to go in search of her to tell her how he feels for her. After all, love has no boundaries, right? And this is how the movie moves forward.

Pradeep Khadka was good in his character of mischievous, and funny Prem in the first half, and the serious-lover-boy-who-would-do-anything-for-his-love Prem in the second half. I thought he looked like Neymar after that hair cut in the movie. I was disappointed in Thakuri though. Maybe the hype was too big. Trying to keep things real, she has tried to capture the Burmese way of talking but at times her dialogues felt awkward and not natural. But maybe that is how the people of Myanmar talk, you could argue. I talk to my relatives in Myanmar almost every week. And I can tell you, they don’t talk like that, at least not to me and my family.

There are many plot holes and WTF moments in the movie too. The most notable one was the scene where a guy tries to stop Prem and Geet at some point in a highway saying Agadi najanus, Trishuli ma thulo aandhi aaudai chha. We’re then neither shown Trishuli nor and any storm. This scene was totally unnecessary and has no relevance in the entire movie. Geet dancing and shouting Buddha bhagawan hamro Nepal ma janminu bhako also did not do any good to the plot. I think it sounded forced. Geet’s grandmother giving her the blessing Prem le timi lai khojdai yeha aaipugos was too filmy. Our hero learns some form of martial arts in a matter of weeks (it’s not mentioned in the movie but that’s what I gathered) and challenges our villain, a champion, for a one-on-one fight. Really? And the villain Angadh (Santosh Sen)—what do I say about him? He fights good. But the reason he turns villain in our lovebird’s lives was very poor. The makers should have done better in giving the villain a strong backstory.

The music in the movie is very good though. Rohit John Chhetri’s Bistarai was my favourite. The songs do not disrupt the flow of the movie. And they have been beautifully shot in beautiful locations. The title song was also very good. Rohit John Chhetri and Shreya Sotang have done a fabulous job. I felt the video could’ve been better though. Well, watch the song and you decide for yourself.

 

If you can ignore some awkward acting, and some plot holes, Prem Geet 2 is very watchable. I can’t say if you’ll like it more than Prem Geet, but you’ll probably come out of the theater saying film ramro raichha. I walked out of the theater thinking Yo Dashain ma Upper Mustang jaane ki Rara, tension po bho.

Overall rating: 6/10

Leave a Reply

